DSC_0756 griffith observatoryDSC_0735 griffith observatorygriffith observatoryGriffith Obs details griffith observatorygriffith observatory telescopegriffith observatorygriffith park

Griffith Park is a favorite for its excellent views of LA and the Hollywood sign. I usually come to hike the Mt Hollywood trail (there are always plenty of people on the trail, a lot of them much older and in much better shape than I am, even at the break of dawn). This time around, I was inspired by our recent close calls with asteroids to check out the Observatory itself.

I was the first one up on the Observatory’s upper level terrace when it opened at 10 AM. Perhaps because I wasn’t caught up in photographing the panoramic view with the crowd, I really noticed the building’s art deco details that reveal its 1930’s origins. Another fun benefit of being there at opening time: seeing the dome rotate and open up. Inside the observatory, there are fun astronomy and science exhibits for kids and more great architectural details for adults to admire.

Griffith Observatory
2800 East Observatory Road, Los Angeles, CA 90027
Wed-Fri: Noon – 10 PM, Sat-Sun: 10 AM – 10 PM
